Domestic Violence (CDV) Attorney - Kent Collins Law FirmServing Lexington, Aiken, Newberry & Columbia, SC
Get the help you need when facing a domestic violence charge (CDV) in South Carolina.
The situation escalated quickly. Neither of you expected it would get so heated. Words and more were exchanged. And without warning, the police were at your door arresting you for criminal domestic violence.
If the emotions of the event weren’t enough, now you’ve got a CDV charge and a legal system to face.
But you don’t have to face it alone. You need a domestic violence attorney, like Kent Collins, who knows the ins and outs of the SC, law and will fight to see justice served.
Kent Collins is here to help.
Kent’s spent many years sitting on both sides of the courtroom, prosecuting and defending domestic violence cases. This means he understands what to expect from prosecutors when building a defense–your defense.
Domestic violence cases can be complex. And with your freedom on the line, you need a CDV attorney with the experience to cut through domestic conflicts and accusations in order to get to the best possible resolution.
People just like you turn to Kent when they want to …
- Minimize punishments like fines and jail time
- Avoid losing custody of their kids
- Maintain the right to possess firearm
- Get their family lives back on track
When working with Kent, you’ll have someone in your corner who:
Keeps you informed. This way you know where you are in the process, what’s needed from you, and what’s next.
Helps you understand the process, while letting you keep control.The legal system along with its jargon can leave your head swimming. Kent knows what options are available to you and the risk associated with each decision. He’ll use his experience to guide you through the process, so that together you can choose the best course of action.
Clients Have Said
“I was a skeptic at first. He told me to trust him. “There is a method to my madness ” he told me. And bam! He was correct. He got my case dismissed. Thank you Mr. Collins!”
— Will, Client – 07/27/2015
“Over the years Kent has assisted me with several legal matters and his performance has always been solid and sound. Being someone who has a record, I know it wasn’t always easy for Kent, but let me just say he has helped me overcome several legal hurdles successfully. Perhaps the most important thing he did for me was help me resolve a licensing issue with the LLR, and enabled me to have a successful and productive career. I highly recommend his services to anyone who is need of solid legal counsel!”
— Ryan, Client – 08/02/2015
What you need to know about domestic violence charges in SC.
If you’re charged with domestic violence in Columbia, SC, you face serious potential consequences. On June 4th, 2015, the State of South Carolina passed new laws which reclassified criminal domestic violence in terms of offenses:
- First degree: A felony offense resulting in up to 10 years in prison.
- Second degree: A misdemeanor offense resulting in fines between $2500 and $5000 and/or up to three years in prison.
- Third degree: A misdemeanor offense resulting in fines between $1000 and $2500 and/or up to 90 days in jail.
The victim cannot drop the CDV charges in South Carolina. Only the prosecution can drop the charges.
If you’re convicted of domestic violence (CDV) in South Carolina, you cannot own a handgun. For some people this is a huge penalty on top of the fines and jail time that come with a CDV conviction.
Physical injury does not have to occur in order to be convicted of CDV in SC. Violence and injury are not the same thing.
The victim does not have to testify against you. However, the burden of proof is on the state, so the prosecutor must still bring evidence supporting a conviction.
If a no contact order has been issued, do not contact or respond to the victim under any circumstances. More than violating the court order, contacting the victim looks bad and can color the judge and jury’s perception of you.
You’re bound to have many questions about your CDV charge, the judicial process, and what you need to do next.
This is my first domestic violence charge. Does that matter?
It depends. The new laws on domestic violence in SC are no longer governed by the number of offenses. For example, it could be your first offense but you could be charged with DV in the first degree which is a felony.
Does the alleged victim have to testify?
No. The alleged victim in a domestic violence case cannot be forced to testify, but they can if they so choose.
Can I be charged with domestic violence if no one was injured?
Yes, criminal domestic violence can happen even without an injury.
What punishment do I face?
The punishment depends on whether the charge is a felony or misdemeanor and on your criminal record. Jail time and fines are likely upon conviction.
Domestic violence charges demand representation.
If you have been charged with domestic violence, you need an attorney right away. Police are investigating, and the prosecutor may already be strategizing on how to present the case before a jury.
Choose an attorney who will protect your legal rights, give you sound advice, and fight hard for you in the legal process.
Ready to speak with a domestic violence attorney about your CDV charges?
Call 803-808-0905, or use this form to schedule a consultation with Kent.